DHL starts construction of climate-neutral CityHub in Tilburg

Utrecht, 1 March 2022: With the relocation of soil by means of a green spade, the construction of the climate-neutral DHL eCommerce CityHub has started for part of Tilburg and the surrounding area. It is the eighth of 26 new CityHubs to be built in the Dutch network of a total of 140 local branches. The local hub will be built at Castorstraat 31 in Northwest Tilburg near the N260 and with easy access roads to the city. Commissioning is scheduled for September 2022. From the CityHub, 200 delivery drivers drive approximately 90 routes daily past households, shops and businesses that are located on the west side of Tilburg and part of Dongen. This is done with electric vans. The other part of Tilburg will be supplied by another CityHub, which will switch entirely to electric transport from October.

F.l.t.r. entrepreneurial couple Dagmar van Gool and Erik van Bladel (managers DHL CityHub), Michel Clausing (CCO DHL eCommerce Benelux and resident of Tilburg) and Guido Vroomen (regional manager DHL CityHubs)

26 new build DHL CityHubs
The 26 new CityHubs to be built are part of a network of 140 branches. The CityHubs are located on the edge of all urban areas, allowing the 'last mile' to be carried out in the most efficient and sustainable way. On a CityHub, an average of 90 trips depart per day, of which 60 during the day and 30 in the evening, with short routes with 100 to 200 addresses. Short routes enable rapid sustainability because they can be carried out with electric vans, cargo bikes or other small vehicles. All new construction – including this CityHub in Tilburg – takes place according to the highest sustainability standards of BREEAM. The buildings are gas-free, equipped with solar panels and are driven with a fully electric fleet. This investment is part of an extensive programme of 350 million euros.  

The 26 new CityHubs to be built will be located in the following places:
Almelo, Almere, Amsterdam-West, Amsterdam-Oost, Amsterdam-Zuid, Apeldoorn, Breda, Den Haag, Ede, Emmen, Sittard-Geleen, Gouda/Waddinxveen, Groningen, Haarlem, Helmond, Hendrik Ido Ambacht, Hoofddorp, Leeuwarden, Leiden, Nijmegen, Roermond, Rotterdam, Tilburg, Utrecht, Zaandam en Zoetermeer.

Written by

Ewout Blaauw

Director Corporate Communications