DHL eCommerce opens climate-neutral CityHub in Nijmegen region

Since a few weeks, every parcel that DHL delivers in the Nijmegen area (Wijchen, Beuningen, Druten) goes through the climate-neutral CityHub that is located on the Bijsterhuizen-Zuid business park in Wijchen. This makes green delivery around Nijmegen a fact. The official opening took place in the presence of local entrepreneurs, DHL employees and the mayor, Mrs Marijke van Beek. 

Marijke van Beek, mayor of the municipality of Wijchen: "DHL creates a lot of jobs in our municipality. The great thing is that this is done in a conscious way: the last part of the delivery distance is covered as sustainably as possible. Because of the sustainable vehicles, but also because the CityHub itself is climate neutral". 

The DHL CityHub is the fifth climate-neutral location for the last mile that DHL is opening in the Netherlands. CityHub Nijmegen is part of an extensive investment program of 350 million euros in which 27 CityHubs in a network of 140 branches are built completely new and according to the highest sustainability standard (BREEAM Outstanding). The CityHub is gas-free and equipped with solar panels with which the 16 electric vans are charged. The other 6 vans run on HVO-100 diesel which emits up to 90% less CO2 emissions.

The CityHub employs more than 100 people who drive 60 routes daily from the CityHub along households, shops and businesses around Nijmegen. That's more than 6,000 packages a day and that number is growing. A similar CityHub will open in Tilburg later this year. Almere, Zoetermeer, Sittard-Geleen and Breda also have a climate-neutral CityHub. The remaining 21 will follow in 2023 and 2024. Before the end of this year, the entire last mile of DHL eCommerce in the Netherlands will be fossil-free, either by electric transport or by the use of HVO-100 diesel. 

Photo caption: Mayor Marijke van Beek hands over the sustainability trophy to Jo-An Spierings, manager of the DHL CityHub, in the presence of Wouter van Benten, CEO DHL eCommerce Benelux.